Why become a #bossmom?!

My story as a #bossmom/mompreneur

You are probably wonder what exactly is a bossmom? A bossmom is a mom that is the boss of her household and her Mompreneur business. Most entrepreneurs do not plan on becoming one it happens by accident.  You either see a need for a specific type of business or you stumble upon a passion, that was the case for me. I have always been crafty, never the smart or athletic type but give me a bunch of random things and I can make something beautiful.

I was a first-time mother and it made sense financially to become a stay at home mom. Being a stay at home mom was never my dream, actually, I never and still do not know what I am meant to do. I found myself alone most of the time because of my husband’s worked hour and I longed for something to call my own. I started creating hand strung western jewelry, posted a few to Facebook and it just kind of took off from there. It was just the beginning of my start in entrepreneurial ship.

I started an online Fb boutique called Maddy Love and carried women’s clothing. I attended as many local vendor events as I could.  I remember the very day we signed the lease to our 600 Sq Ft storefront. It was the tiniest space but I made it work. I spend several nights painting zebra stenciled walls while Maddy ran around in her footed p.js. She came every day to the boutique with me and would take naps on a cot in a space I made for her. Six short months later my husband was offered a new restaurant location. I wanted him to advance in his career so I put mine on hold. Owning a storefront was the most stress yet rewarding journey in life.

After relocating to Louisiana I put my boutique on pause and focused on school full-time. I found myself lost in the everyday routine tasks and ventured into the Etsy world. I own an Etsy shop for custom made drinkware. I love it because I get to craft every day.  Being a work at home mom has allowed me to stay with my girls and volunteer at their schools. It made sense six years ago and still does today. I have the flexibility of taking my girls to their dance/gymnastic activities or run to pick them up if they get sick at school. And let’s face today’s reality not very many jobs understand that being a mother comes first.

I love shopping and putting together an outfit and always said that one day when the time was right I would get back into the boutique world so here I am. Welcome to my newest business venture Luv to Liv-Boutique.Blog.Lifestyle. Join me on my journey of boutique shopping while I let you in on my life with blog posts, DIY crafts, a space to empower other moms and my fitness lifestyle.

Author: Samantha York

Wife. Mother. Entrepreneur. Bossmom Wife to an amazing man. We've been married for two years. Work at home mom since 2011. Two girly, girls, MadaLynn is six and Oliva is Two. Both have completely different personalities and keep me on my toes. I recently graduated from New Mexico State University with a bachelor's degree in Business Administration. Definitely my biggest accomplishment to date. I am the definition of momprenuer, I look at every aspect in life as a buinsess oportunity.

Leave a Reply

